Presbyterian Theological Seminary

Organization Description: 

The Presbyterian Theological Seminary (PTS) was founded on June 29, 1983 by the Evangelical Presbyterian Mission, Inc. (EPM), a mission group organized in the Philippines in 1978 through the missionaries of the Presbyterian Church in Korea (Hapdong). The seminary started with module classes with ten students through the leadership of Dr. Hwal-Young �Gerardo� Kim and Dr. Kiho �Timothy� Park. The name of the seminary was formerly known as Presbyterian School of Theology (PST) located at the Teacher's Village, Diliman, Quezon City. In 1985, the name was changed into Presbyterian Theological Seminary and transfered to its present location at Salitran IV, Dasmariñas, Cavite in 1987.

PTS began offering regular semestral classes for different degree and diploma programs, such as Master of Divinity (M. Div.), Master of Ministry (M.M.), Bachelor of Theology (B. Th.), and Bachelor of Church Ministry (B.C.M.). In April 1986, PTS held its first commencement exercises and graduated 14 students. From that year PTS produced graduates from different degree programs serving in different churches and ministries both here and abroad.
The Presbyterian Theological Seminary exists to provide quality leadership training program in order to cultivate gifts for set-apart ministry. Its mission is based on the doctrine of priesthood of all believers that supports the concept of the ministry of all members of the church. While PTS recognizes the importance of intellectual excellence, it also believes that practical skills and spiritual maturity must also be emphasized. Thus, the goal of the seminary is to provide training for the leadership of the Presbyterian Church of the Philippines and other evangelical churches here and abroad. It seeks to provide academic and spiritual training for its students by offering carefully designed curricula and spiritual activities such as regular chapel services, daily dawn prayer meetings, weekly evening prayer meetings, revival meetings and fellowship groups. Just as Jesus Christ trained his disciples, PTS also provides training to foreign and Filipino students for the expansion of GodÂ?s kingdom on earth.

For its presidents, Dr. Hwal-Young Â?GerardoÂ? Kim served as the founding president (1983-85) and assumed office again from 1987 to 1991. Dr. Timothy Ki-Ho Park served from 1985 to 1986. In 1991, Rev. Hyung-Kyu Â?DiosdadoÂ? Kim served as interim president. From 1992 to 1995 Dr. Kiho Â?TimothyÂ? Park served again president and succeeded by Dr. Samuel Sang-Il Yeo serving from 1996-2001. After eighteen years of existence, Rev. Alfredo P. Carlos was installed as the first Filipino president from 2001-2004 (deceased). He was succeeded by Rev. Arturo O. Panopio from 2004 to 2007. In June 29, 2007 during its 24th Founding Anniversary the Board of Trustee installed Dr. Azriel R. Azarcon as the 3rd Filipino President of PTS.

PTS continue to train Filipino ministerial candidates and church workers as well as foreign students from Myanmar, Bangladesh, India, Cambodia, Kenya, Gambia, Palestine and Vietnam as ChristÂ?s ambassadors and witnesses to the world.

Home l About Us l Statement of Faith l Accreditation & Affiliatio

+6346-4164633, 34
Organizational Email:
Presbyterian Theological Seminary
Dasmarinas, 4114
Mission Statement: 
Organizational Statement of Faith: 
Do You Require Formal Orientation Training for Volunteers?: 
Are more than one-third of the participants in your organization/programs low income (below 150% of the poverty level)?: 
Primary Types of Volunteer Opportunities: 
International Volunteers: 
Organization Membership Type: